Facebook has finished rolling out end-to-end encryption on Messenger, allowing users of the app to protect their conversations from being monitored by hackers, government agencies, or Facebook itself
Messenger's new encryption comes in the form of "secret conversations" — an option that's available by clicking on a user's name in any regular chat. Once activated you can talk as normal, with the added option of setting a self-destruct timer on your messages — anywhere from fives seconds to a day.
Some functionality, like sending GIFS and videos, is unavailable, but you can still share pictures and use stickers. (But now they're encrypted stickers.) The feature will only be available if both users have the latest version of Messenger, and the conversations can only be accessed on a single device. You can also delete all secret conversations stored on your device from your profile settings page.